Going on a venture

All my life, I have wondered about my life stories. Some are so bizarre, I will include newspaper articles. Documentation provides proof of what went on after my family moved to South America in December of 1963. I don’t have all the details and this is going to be an adventure of finding the truths in my life (my children call going on driving trips with me, a venture).

We will venture into the archives of newspapers to determine when the Pilgrims (media’s label) left, where we went, what went on while in South America, and I am chasing down the people who helped obtain my father’s release from a Paraguayan prison. Without knowing who the President was, I grew up believing the President of the United States freed my father from the hospital he was locked in after the U.S. obtained dad’s release from prison. Dad was imprisoned for cattle rustling and mom left South America, headed to the U.S. Capitol. Without a fence around the Capitol, mom walked up to the receptionist and said, “I need to speak with the President.” She did not know anything about how the government worked; however, she knew who was the top dog and she was determined to free dad. Some Texas representatives assisted mom and one day I will figure out these people’s identity. Maybe you can help me?

First, we’ll start off with traveling from Texas to South America. People always wonder why we went to South America and the answer depends on who you ask. My family went because daddy said we were going. We didn’t ask questions because life with dad was always one big adventure; whether traveling to South America or searching for a displaced calf, life was exciting around daddy.

Dad-1959

Before I was born in 1960, dad began pastoring a church, Birdsall Baptist Church, in Houston, Texas. The bus in the background proudly displays the name of the little church off Columbia Street in the Heights.

Daddy and Jo
Daddy and Jo

In 1962, I was a little twerp and loved my daddy more than anyone in this whole wide world. He seemed like a giant man and when dad was around, I was safer and nobody messed with Daddy’s Little Girl.

Leave a Reply

